Honey Bees

Some guests came to visit me, but their stay was brief!

There was tree in full blossom and they came for a brief

Feast of Nectar. Said I to them, tarry, and tell your brief

Tale, from whence you’ve come and how’re yonder lands?

Guests in hurry said, “far have we to go,and much is the

Work left! Winter is nigh, we’ve many mouths to feed the

Queen-mother awaits us!” Off they launched into the

Unknown, on to a long journey of adventure and danger!

I, the disappointed host watched them go, but happy,

For so many guests had I never had before! Lucky

Me, each guest had a different tale to tell of lonely

Lands afar, of mountains and valleys and streams!

Greeted I, honey – bees, bumble – bees, butterflies,

And wasps, for they had graciously come dine!

And I, the gracious host was happy to have such

Important guests like them! And wrote I a poem!

Leave a Reply

