The Indian Golden Jackal

I have been fascinated with wildlife since childhood, so I am a self-proclaimed Wildlife Photographer. When I am not photographing migratory birds, I try to photograph Antelopes and Jackals. What seems to be most remarkable about Golden Jackals is that they seem to be no different from their more domesticated distant relatives, the dogs. However, be it as it may, the Golden Jackals that I have come across belong to a pack of five or six animals living in the Sultanpur National Park in Gurgaon, Haryana, India.

The sense of familiarity exhibited by them in my photographs is perhaps one reason why I was able to get really close to them without really scaring them away. Also, the time when I was able to spot them is crucial because I usually enter the National Park early in the morning, when there are very few visitors around. Jackals are less likely to be spooked by a single person than by a crowd of noisy people.

The Indian Golden Jackals (Canis aureus indicus) live in packs of four or five. They are very intelligent and well-coordinated. I have noticed how they place themselves strategically, and they seem to communicate with each other in mysterious ways. I have seen them move in sync without a bark or a whimper!

Leave a comment